Heritage Silver Trail
Site 16: Colonial Mine Site
Discovered in 1904 by local prospectors Murphy McLeod and George Glendenning, this was the first sign of silver outside the immediate Cobalt area. The claim was sold to two capitalists from North Bay who in turn sold it to the Colonial Mining Company Limited from the state of Maine. The site was developed by several horizontal adits, a 967 foot vertical shaft and a mill.
One of the adits is currently used for guided underground tours, arranged by the Cobalt Mining Museum. This tour is especially valuable as they provide an opportunity to experience working conditions as they were in a Cobalt mine one hundred years ago. If you'd like to arrange an underground mine tour at the Colonial during the summer months visit the Cobalt Mining Museum, 24 Silver Street to set up a tour date and time - contact email@example.com or call (705) 679-8301.
LOCATION: Kerr Lake Road. GPS: 47.394388, -79.660930
© 2017-2019 Follow Us on FaceBook